Information for Researchers

Status: 20 March 2020, 5:00 p.m.

Only Exceptional Research On-Site

The University of Zurich began operating on a skeleton staff starting on 17 March 2020. As a result, only people who are overseeing crucial research systems and experiments may stay in the university’s buildings. During the skeleton operations phase, UZH employees may only work on ecxeptional research projects requiring on-site presence and on-site resources.

1. Research operations shut down with few exceptions

UZH is completely shutting down all research operations requiring on-site presence and on-site resources with only a few exceptions that require prior authorization.

2. Approval for exceptional projects

Formal approval is required for a research project to qualify as exceptional. This approval will be issued to projects meeting specific criteria. The responsible decision-making body is under the leadership of the Vice President Research.
Criteria and procedure for approval

3. Permission for entering workplaces

UZH staff may only enter their workplaces with written non-transferable permission from the Executive Board. Anyone who is part of an exceptional research project will receive the authorization needed to enter UZH buildings.

4. Access to libraries

Libraries will not be accessible, with the exception of select members of the library staff. Researchers should use the electronic collections. Physical documents can be sent to you free of charge if you place an online order.
Information of the UZH libraries

5. Resources from support organizations

Research projects that have officially received exceptional status must check with the organizations that they rely on (support organizations such as LASC, technology platforms or other services) in order to ensure that these organizations can still continue to provide the necessary resources and services during the coronavirus pandemic (e.g. they could have insufficient supplies or a lack of materials). This is the responsibility of the research project leader.

6. Invalidation of approval

If an exceptional research project must be halted due to the inability of a support organization to continue providing the necessary resources and services, the exceptional status of the project becomes invalid, and employees who are involved lose their right to enter UZH premises.

7. Projects outside of UZH premises

Exceptional research projects that are conducted in Switzerland outside of UZH premises (e.g. field research and critical long-term measurements) are also subject to authorization and can be applied for in the same way.

8. Research on Corona

Exceptional research projects that contribute to our understanding of the coronavirus will be approved and given the highest priority.

9. Conducting research remotely

All research that can be conducted remotely will continue as usual.

10. Research in the university hospitals

Due to the special situation, the deans of the Vetsuisse Faculty and the Faculty of Medicine will decide, in consultation with the hospitals, what constitutes minimal research operations in the university hospitals. This is to avoid conflicts between research activities and operations for the welfare of humans and animals. Dual institutes shall follow the guidelines of the leading faculty.

Informationen für Forschende

Stand: 20. März 2020, 17:00 Uhr

Ausschliesslich notwendige Forschung vor Ort

Die Universität hat per 17. März 2020 auf Betrieb mit minimaler Präsenz umgestellt. Als Folge davon schliesst sie ihren Forschungsbetrieb mit Ressourcenbedarf und zwingender physischen Präsenz in den Räumlichkeiten der UZH bis auf bewilligungspflichtige Ausnahmen vollständig. Es dürfen sich nur noch Personen, die zwingend notwendige Forschungssysteme und -experimente betreuen, in den Räumlichkeiten der Universität aufhalten.

1. Forschungsbetrieb bis auf wenige Ausnahmen geschlossen

Die UZH schliesst ihren Forschungsbetrieb mit Ressourcenbedarf und zwingender physischen Präsenz in den Räumlichkeiten der UZH bis auf bewilligungspflichtige Ausnahmen vollständig.

2. Bewilligung für ausserdordentliche Forschungsprojekte

Ausserordentliche Forschungsprojekte bedürfen einer formalen Bewilligung. Diese Bewilligung wird aufgrund von bestimmten Kriterien durch ein Entscheidungsgremium unter der Leitung des Prorektors Forschung erteilt.
Kriterien und Vorgehen für die Bewilligung

3. Bewilligung für Zutritt zu Gebäuden

Mitarbeitende der UZH dürfen ihren Arbeitsplatz nur mit schriftlicher, nicht übertragbarer Bewilligung der Universitätsleitung betreten. Mitglieder eines Ausserordentlichen Forschungsprojekts erhalten eine Bewilligung, um die Gebäude der UZH zu betreten.

4. Zugang zu Bibliotheken

Bibliotheken sind ausser für ausgewählte Bibliotheks-Mitarbeitende nicht zugänglich. Forschende nutzen die elektronischen Bestände. Physische Dokumente werden ihnen auf elektronische Bestellung kostenlos zugesandt.
Informationen der UZH-Bibliotheken.

5. Ressourcen von Unterstützungsorganisationen

Sollten bewilligte Ausserordentliche Forschungsprojekte auf Ressourcen von Unterstützungsorganisationen wie LASC, Technologieplattformen oder weitere Dienstleistungen angewiesen sein, liegt es in der Verantwortung des Leiters des Forschungsprojekts zu klären, ob die Unterstützungsorganisation die für das Ausserordentliche Projekt erforderlichen Leistungen trotz den Auswirkungen der Coronavirus-Pandemie (z.B. Unterbestand, fehlende Materialien) erbringen kann.

6. Erlöschen der Bewilligung

Kann eine Unterstützungsorganisation den Support für ein bewilligtes Ausserordentliches Forschungsprojekt nicht mehr erbringen, und kann deswegen das Ausserordentliche Forschungsprojekt nicht mehr weitergeführt werden, erlischt auch deren Bewilligung und die Zutrittsbewilligungen der Mitarbeitenden des Projekts.

7. Projekte ausserhalb der Räumlichkeiten der UZH

Ausserordentliche Forschungsprojekte ausserhalb der Räumlichkeiten der UZH, welche in der Schweiz durchgeführt werden (z.B. Feldversuche und kritische Langzeitmessungen) sind bewilligungsfähig und können beantragt werden.

8. Forschung zu Coronavirus

Ausserordentliche Forschungsprojekte, welche zum Wissensstand über das Coronavirus beitragen, werden mit höchster Priorität bewilligt.

9. Forschung im Home-Office

Alle Forschung, welche über Home Office erledigt werden kann, wird normal weitergeführt.

10. Forschung in den Spitälern

Aufgrund der speziellen Situation entscheiden die Dekane der VSF und MeF über den Minimalbetrieb ihrer Forschungsaktivitäten in den universitären Spitälern bzw. in Absprache mit den Spitälern, dies um Konflikte zwischen Forschungsarbeiten und Einsätzen zu Handen des Wohlergehens von Mensch und Tier zu vermeiden. Doppelinstitute folgen den Anweisungen der leading Fakultät.