Information for Students

Digital Teaching

The increasingly serious developments this week have led the Executive Board of the University to approve the introduction of unprecedented and radical measures for UZH. After consultation with the cantonal authorities, the Executive Board of the University has decided to switch all courses to a distance-learning format from Monday, 16 March 2020 until further notice. Our goal remains the same: to enable you to access teaching materials and to support you in dealing with your course content and in completing the relevant assessments.

In addition, the following steps will be taken, and we ask for your cooperation in this regard:

1. Teaching staff has been requested to provide courses available in a digital format

The Executive Board of the University has requested all teaching staff to make their courses available in a digital format – that does not always mean podcasts, there are also many other online options. We ask for your patience, as the process of moving all courses to digital platforms will take some time. It will not be possible to make all course content available online immediately. You will receive instructions directly from your course instructors about where and how to access the materials.

2. Cancellation window for modules and exams/assessments

In addition, the Executive Board of the University has decided to introduce a window for cancellations in the current semester (likely in the first two weeks of May). This will enable you to cancel your enrollment for modules and exams/assessments without giving a reason, should you feel unable to complete the requirements under the current circumstances.

3. Teaching staff has been requested to inform you in good time about exam contents or assessment requirements

Although we cannot predict how the situation will develop, the teaching staff have been requested to inform you in writing of the exam contents or assessment requirements in good time before the cancellation window opens. This should enable you to decide whether you want to sit the exam/complete the assessment requirements or not.  

4. Libraries will be closed

Starting on Friday, 20 March 6 p.m., the university’s libraries will be closed. Students can order media online and have them delivered to their home free of charge. Individual students may request and be granted access to a library if they need library media/documents that cannot be copied or digitalized.

This extraordinary situation is presenting great challenges for all of us, and we are very aware of that. We are doing everything possible to support you as best we can, and to make sure you get all relevant information in good time. We greatly appreciate your cooperation.

Informationen für Studierende

Digitale Lehre

Die sich zuspitzenden Entwicklungen haben die Universitätsleitung veranlasst, eine für die UZH einmalige und sehr einschneidende Massnahme anzuordnen. In Absprache mit dem Kanton hat die Universitätsleitung beschlossen, ab Montag, 16. März 2020 sämtliche Lehrveranstaltungen bis auf Weiteres kontaktfrei durchzuführen. Das Ziel der Universität bleibt es, Ihnen Zugang zu den Lehrinhalten zu ermöglichen, Sie dabei zu unterstützen, sich angemessen mit den Lehrinhalten auseinanderzusetzen und Ihre Leistungsnachweise abzulegen.

Das hat folgende Auswirkungen:

1. Lehrveranstaltungen sollen digital angeboten werden

Die Universitätsleitung hat alle Dozierenden aufgefordert, ihre Lehrveranstaltungen digital anzubieten – das bedeutet nicht in jedem Fall Podcasts, es gibt viele andere Möglichkeiten, Lehrinhalte online anzubieten. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis dafür, dass diese Umstellung einige Zeit in Anspruch nehmen wird. Nicht alle Lehrinhalte werden per sofort online zur Verfügung gestellt werden können. Sie werden direkt von Ihren Dozierenden Instruktionen darüber erhalten, wie und wo Sie zu den Inhalten gelangen.

2. Stornofenster von gebuchten Veranstaltungen bzw. Leistungsnachweisen

Die Universitätsleitung hat zudem beschlossen, dass im laufenden Semester ein «Stornofenster» eingerichtet wird (voraussichtlich in den ersten beiden Maiwochen). Es soll Ihnen ermöglichen, sich von gebuchten Veranstaltungen bzw. Leistungsnachweisen ohne Angabe von Gründen wieder abzumelden, wenn Sie sich angesichts der besonderen Umstände nicht in der Lage sehen, den Leistungsnachweis zu erbringen.

3. Dozierende sind aufgefordert, Prüfungsstoff und Anforderungen schriftlich zu definieren und Sie zu informieren

Obwohl wir heute noch nicht sagen können, wie sich die Situation entwickeln wird, sind die Dozierenden aufgefordert, rechtzeitig vor der Öffnung des Stornofensters den jeweiligen Prüfungsstoff bzw. die Anforderungen für den Leistungsnachweis schriftlich zu definieren und Sie entsprechend zu informieren. Damit haben Sie eine Grundlage, um zu entscheiden, ob Sie die Prüfung bzw. den Leistungsnachweis ablegen wollen oder nicht. 

4. Bibliotheken ab Freitag, 20.3.20, 18.00 Uhr geschlossen

Die Bibliotheken werden geschlossen. Studierende können Medien online bestellen und erhalten diese kostenlos nach Hause geliefert. Auf Antrag kann einzelnen Studierenden Zutritt zu einer Bibliothek gewährt werden, wenn sie Medien/Dokumente benötigen, die nicht kopiert oder digitalisiert werden können.

Die aussergewöhnliche Situation stellt uns alle vor grosse Herausforderungen – wir sind uns dessen sehr bewusst. Wir setzen alles daran, Sie bestmöglich zu unterstützen und über alle für Sie relevanten Informationen zeitnah in Kenntnis zu setzen. Wir bedanken uns herzlich für Ihre Kooperation.